Call Now Open 24/7

Tampa Mental Illness SSDI Benefits

If a person has a mental illness or disorder, they can qualify to receive social security disability benefits. Also, a person can be eligible for benefits if they have an intellectual disability. It is important for people to understand that there is a strict definition of these issues. For example, many before assume that because they have a learning disorder they have an intellectual disability. However, that is false. The definition of intellectual disability is specifically defined by the Social Security Administration (SSA). An attorney could analyze medical evidence to determine whether an individual has an intellectual disability that equates to SSA’s definition.

If you believe that you or a loved one qualifies for Tampa mental illness SSDI benefits, reach out to an experienced SSDI lawyer today.

Requirements for Mental Illness Benefits

The SSA has a listing for mental illness definitions. Looking at this listing is one of the first places a person analyzing a disability claim will look. They will see how the mental illness is defined and if the claimant’s situation is included in the listing. It comes down to whether or not someone has a mental health diagnosis, whether they are treating that condition, whether or not it is controlled or uncontrolled with treatment, and whether or not the symptoms that it presents to the person would preclude them from engaging in work activity. Contact a knowledgeable attorney for more information.

How Does SSA Determine Who Qualifies?

The SSA determines Tampa mental illness SSDI benefits based on a review of the medical evidence. A person cannot be deemed to have an impairment if there is no medical evidence supporting that impairment. To determine that a person qualifies for benefits, the SSA engages in a thorough review of the medical records.

The listing of impairments include specific categories of disability. There are multiple categories, including respiratory, mental health, musculoskeletal, and more. For almost any impairment, there will be a corresponding listing, with a breakdown of the requirements to satisfy that listing.

In the five-step sequential process of disability, one of the steps is whether or not the individual’s impairment meets or equals a listing. When going through the evaluation and after a review of all the medical evidence, an adjudicator will compare the medical evidence to the definition of a disability within the listing and determine whether all the requirements of the listing have been met and whether or not the medical evidence supports that finding. If someone meets or equals a listing, their condition is so severe that they do not have to move on to Step Four or Step Five of the sequential process.

The Sequential Process

If a person’s condition does not meet the listing requirements for mental illness, then they move on to Step Four of the sequential process. Typically, if they do not meet a listing and they are going in front of a judge, then the next sequential evaluation is whether or not an individual could engage in any of their past relevant work, and whether or not they can engage in any other type of work. The evaluation continues, though not meeting the listing can mean that the process will be a bit more difficult.

If you have any questions regarding recovering Tampa mental illness SSDI benefits, reach out to an accomplished lawyer today.